There are two circumstances by which UNKNOWN would be seen in the monitor tool:
- The user recently connected but hasn’t sent the identifying information yet. It can take up to 10 seconds to get that information from the user, and up to another 10 seconds for the user in the monitor tool to receive it. At that point, the connection would stop appearing as UNKNOWN.
- A user connected and disconnected before any identifying information was sent from their browser. This can occur if a user refreshes right away or if they have a problem playing the stream and no stats or identifying information is ever sent (back to the platform). NOTE: When this is combined with the cases where the platform is not notified that the user disconnected, that connection will continue to appear UNKNOWN.
Example Image showing UNKNOWN: